Nothing Other

Posted on

 

 

For a number of years there was the desire here to ‘wake up’. What the heck that meant was not understood. Life as it seemed to be was just somehow sensed as not the whole story. It was a vague, non-specific feeling, not present a lot, but when it was it was clear that something called ‘waking up’ might be what would end this nebulously uncomfortable state of affairs. At some point I began wanting it with every fiber of my being.

That normal, everyday living was a kind of dreamstate had been touched. How that was recognized is unanswerable. It just was. And as for waking up, there was no definition for it available to me. There were only vague ideas of love, bliss, harmony. There had been no contact with any Eastern religions or ways of thinking about spirituality at that point. Buddhism, Zen, advaita, no self, non-dual… those were simply words. Whatever they meant was completely out of reach. I was on my own.

Yet I did have friends with whom there were many discussions of awakening. We talked a lot about what it might be like, but could see no real means of making it happen. In fact, we often mistook the side effects of realizing Reality as the road that would take us there, imagining that being more loving, peaceful, mind-quiet would somehow trigger what we so deeply wanted. And I felt such a failure, because I could not seem to create more lovingness or peace. A quieter mind seemed an oxymoron. Not possible.

Now it is seen that these qualities, and many others, arrive, if they do, because of awakening, rather than as stimulators of it, and flower as it goes deeper. Now it is known that there is no road to realization, only realization itself. And what is that, you ask? It is the clear, solid, unambiguous seeing, via direct intuitive experiencing, of what we naturally are. It is the unassailable insight that there is not a ‘me’, not an ego ‘I’; that instead what is present every moment is endless, complete, spacious emptiness; the no-thing that is the source of all.

It is what I am, and we are no different, you and I. Not in the slightest.


About Lisa Kahale

Just THIS.

12 responses »

  1. Brad Randall

    Bravo – the seeker becomes the finder…indeed!

    I’m heading to the Big Island Friday and staying on the very northern part of the Island Monday through Friday next week with a spectacular view of Haleakala (clouds permitting) I hope. I’ll think of you (me) when I catch the view! :)

    Thanks again for all your sharing Lisa!!

    Namaste,

    -Brad

    Reply
  2. It’s nice to be blogging about this and finding that there are other people, such as yourself, out there with experiences I can relate to. :)
    ~ Paul

    Reply
  3. I know exactly what you mean, Paul. Your blog and so many others are singing my song. Yay!
    Love,
    L

    Reply
  4. Thank you sweet Lisa for being like me even in your words. I would have write the exact samething (still) How can I meet you ? (everything is good for me to go to HAWAII – just don’t know why it is soooo attracting to me. hmmm) thank you for sharing your honest feelings. Helps to consider better MY own road … love Johanne x..

    Reply
  5. Hi Lisa,
    I have the pleasure of nominating your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award. Congratulations! Please see my post for details of receiving the award.
    http://restinginawareness.com/2012/05/27/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Reply
  6. Dear Fellow Blogger, I would like to nominate you for the Sunshine Award. Please visit my post for further information:
    http://thewondrousdharma.com/2012/05/30/sunshine-award/
    Congratulations!

    Reply
  7. Hi Lisa,
    I am nominating you for the Commentator Award. See my post for the guidelines:
    http://restinginawareness.com/2012/05/31/the-commentator-award/
    ~ Paul

    Reply
  8. Thank you, Paul! And you deserve all this recognition coming your way… I really like your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

